BC health officials provide first live COVID-19 update after shift in strategy | LIVE

From Global News.

Almost 1,000 people are in hospital in B.C. due to COVID-19 as the Omicron variant continues to surge.

B.C.’s provincial health officer Dr. Bonnie Henry and Health Minister Adrian Dix will provide their latest update about the pandemic at 3 p.m. PT (6 p.m. EST) after originally announcing it was to be held at 1:30 p.m. PT (4:30 p.m. EST).

Sixty-three more people were admitted to hospitals over the weekend but in some good news, the number of people in intensive care dropped by one to 129.

In the last live briefing, Henry signalled a major shift in the way the province is handing COVID-19, saying everyone should assume they’ve been a close contact and that contact tracing is no longer effective.

Because of the Omicron variant, Henry said the province is treating COVID-19 more like the common cold.

For more info, please go to: https://globalnews.ca/news/8536602/bc-live-covid-update-tuesday-latest/

Like Global News on Facebook HERE: http://bit.ly/255GMJQ
Follow Global News on Twitter HERE: http://bit.ly/1Toz8mt
Follow Global News on Instagram HERE: https://bit.ly/2QZaZIB
#GlobalNews #COVID19 #GlobalBC