New Covid Variant Triggers U.S. Travel Restrictions From 8 African Nations

From NBC News.

The U.S. is restricting travel from eight African nations because of the threat of a new Covid-19 variant named “Omicron.” The move was recommend by the White House coronavirus response team, to try and contain the spread. Other countries included in the restriction — which does not apply to U.S. citizens and lawful permanent residents — are Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Mozambique and Malawi.

» Subscribe to NBC News:
» Watch more NBC video:

NBC News Digital is a collection of innovative and powerful news brands that deliver compelling, diverse and engaging news stories. NBC News Digital features,,, Nightly News, Meet the Press, Dateline, and the existing apps and digital extensions of these respective properties. We deliver the best in breaking news, live video coverage, original journalism and segments from your favorite NBC News Shows.

Connect with NBC News Online!
NBC News App:
Breaking News Alerts:
Visit NBCNews.Com:
Find NBC News on Facebook:
Follow NBC News on Twitter:

#CovidVariant #Omicron #Africa