Why Music Experts Are Fighting About Ludacris


From “12tone”. ( YouTube / Nebula )

Or how Roll Out divided the music theory community.
Try CuriosityStream free and get Nebula included: http://www.curiositystream.com/12tone and use promo code "12tone"

A couple weeks back, the online music theory world exploded in controversy over the beat to Ludacris’s 2001 hit Roll Out. No one could agree on how the rhythm worked, and no one could understand why anyone would disagree with their version. Arguments were had, things were said that could never be taken back, and at the end of it all we never did come to an agreement on what exactly was going on in the song. But what makes it so complicated? Oh, uh… That’s what this video’s about. You should probably watch it if you want to know the answer. Or don’t. I’m not the boss of you.

Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/12tonevideos
Merch: http://standard.tv/12tone
Discord: https://discord.gg/pq2QBEw
Mailing List: http://eepurl.com/bCTDaj
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/12tonevideos
Twitter: https://twitter.com/12tonevideos
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/12tonevideos/
Email: 12tonevideos@gmail.com

Last: https://youtu.be/wKaSeIlpqnU
The twitter thread: https://twitter.com/Komaniecki_R/status/1320883290820218880
Roll Out: https://youtu.be/3ArhZPYplFk
Yay Boy: https://youtu.be/eKwgjDhl39w
Studio Sensei’s video: https://youtu.be/weAmMgSD7ro

Script: https://tinyurl.com/yxlh7swf

Huge thanks to our Elephant of the Month Club members:

Susan Jones
Jill Jones
Howard Levine
Ron Jones
Brian Etheredge
Khristofor Saraga
Paul Ward
Len Lanphar
Ken Arnold
William (Bill) Boston
Anton Smyk
Chris Prentice
Jack Carlson
Christopher Lucas
Andrew Beals
Dov Zazkis
Hendrik Payer
Thomas Morley
Jacob Helwig
Davis Sprague
Darius Rudominer
Alex Knauth
Braum Meakes
Hendrik Stüwe
Dan Bonelli
Kevin Boyce

And thanks as well to Henry Reich, Gabi Ghita, Owen Campbell-Moore, Gene Lushtak, Eugene Bulkin, Logan Jones, James Treacy Bagshaw, Oliver, Anna Work, Abram Thiessen, Adam Neely, nico, Rick Lees, Dave Mayer, Paul Quine, CodenaCrow, Nikolay Semyonov, Arnas, Caroline Simpson, Michael Alan Dorman, Dmitry Jemerov, Michael McCormick, Blake Boyd, Luke Rihn, Charles Gaskell, Ian Seymour, Trevor, Tom Evans, Elliot Jay O’Neill, Chris Borland, Max Wanderman, Alex Atanasyan, Elliot Burke, Tim S., Elias Simon, JH, David Conrad, Jerry D. Brown, Chris Chapin, Ohad Lutzky, James A. Thornton, Benjamin Cooper, Jake Lizzio, Ken Bauso, Brian Dinger, Lamadesbois, Stefan Strohmaier, Shadow Kat, Adam Wurstmann, Kelsey Freese, Todd Davidson, Angela Flierman, Richard T. Anderson, Lee Rennie, Kevin Johnson, Roger Grosse, Ryan, Matthew Kallend, Rodrigo Roman, Jeremy Zolner, Patrick Callier, Danny, Francois LaPlante, Volker Wegert, Joshua Gleitze, Britt Ratliff, ml cohen, Darzzr, Charles Hill, Alexey Fedotov, Joshua La Macchia, Alex Keeny, Emilio Assteves, Valentin Lupachev, John Bejarano, Peter Leventis, Aaron Epstein, Blake White, Phillip N, Chris Connett, Scott Frazer, Niko Albertus, Luke Wever, Gary Butterfield, Steve Brand, Rene Miklas, Connor Shannon, max thomas, Kenneth Kousen, James, h2g2guy, W. Dennis Sorrell, Jamie Price, Kennedy Morrison, Red Uncle, Melvin Martis, Doug Nottingham, Professor Elliot, Jozef Paffen, Nicholas Wolf, Scott Howarth, Roming 22, Robert Beach, ZagOnEm, Andrew Engel, Carsten Lechte, Tuna, Hexa Midine, Mathew Wolak, Aaron Zhu Freedman, Peter Brinkman, Thomas McCarthy-Ward, T, Lincoln Mendell, Vincent Engler, Luke, Sam Rezek, Matt McKegg, Beth Martyn, Lucas Augusto, Marcus Doyle, Caitlin Olsen, NoticeMK, Anna, Hikaru Katayamma, Evan Satinsky, James Little, RaptorCat, Naomi Ostriker, Alex Mole, Jigglypuffer, leftaroundabout, Jens Schäfer, Mikely Whiplash, room34, Austin Amberg, Francisco Rodrigues, Elizabeth, Kaisai Morihito, Michael Tsuk, David Van der Linden, Carter Stoddard, Betsy, Stephen Jones, Tonya Custis, Mike Lin, Dave Shapiro, Jacopo Cascioli, ThoraSTooth, Robert McIntosh, Brandon Legawiec, Brx, Jim Hayes, Evgeni Kunev, Fernando Gonzalez, CoryC, Rafael Martinez Salas, Walther, Alon Kellner, Özgür Kesim, Rob Hardy, Patrick Chieppe, Eric Stark, Jon Prudhomme, David Haughn, Gordon Dell, Graeme Lewis, Jake Sand, Kayla Sparks, Max Glass, Byron DeLaBarre, Matty Crocker, Ethan Pister, anemamata, Brian Miller, Lee-orr Orbach, Eric Plume, Kevin Pierce, Jon Hancock, Aditya Baradwaj, Matt Ivaliotes, Yuval Filmus, Caleb Meyer, Richard Goldberg, Jason Peterson, Peggy Youell, Pamela O’Neill, Juan Madrigal, Jos Mulder, Daryl Banttari, Tarragon Eames, Federico Savignano, J.T. Vandenbree, xander, Bobby Walls, David Taylor, Valtteri Virtanen, Mark Henning, Byron Williams, Symmetry, and Cereus! Your support helps make 12tone even better!

Also, thanks to Jareth Arnold for proofreading the script to make sure this all makes sense hopefully!

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Help us improve our content!

Tell us if mBlip should continue to feature this YouTuber's content.